Skip to main content

Insurance Pre-Licensing Requirements by State

Some states make you complete a set number of hours in a state-approved course before you are allowed to sit the exam. Others let you register whenever you are ready. Which camp your state falls into is the single biggest factor in what getting licensed costs you, and it decides what you should be shopping for.

35
Exam only
9
Mixed by line
4
Pre-licensing required

All 51 jurisdictions, every US state plus the District of Columbia. 3 of them carry application and regulator detail but no per-line pre-licensing classification yet, and are marked "Not classified" rather than guessed at. Coverage and sources are noted at the bottom of this page.

Requirements by jurisdiction

“Mixed” means the state mandates hours for some lines of authority but not others, which is common where property and casualty is treated differently from life and health. Hours shown are the distinct figures the state sets across the lines we track.

JurisdictionRequirementMandated hoursProducer application feeState regulatorCourses
AlabamaExam onlyNone$80 (amendment $80, reinstatement $80)Insurance ProducerAlabama Department of InsuranceView
AlaskaExam onlyNone$75 (reinstatement $175; $275 if 61 or more days past expiration)Insurance ProducerAlaska Division of InsuranceView
ArizonaExam onlyNone$120 (amendment $120)Insurance ProducerArizona Department of Insurance and Financial InstitutionsView
ArkansasNot classifiedNot stated$0 to $70 licence fee plus a $15 to $25 application fee, varying by line of authorityInsurance Producer (per line of authority)Arkansas Insurance DepartmentNot yet
CaliforniaMixed12 hrs / 20 hrs$188Insurance Producer (general)California Department of InsuranceNot yet
ColoradoMixed50 hrs$44Resident Producer (all lines of authority except Surplus Lines)Colorado Division of InsuranceView
ConnecticutPre-licensing required20 hrs$140 (amendment $130; reinstatement $130)Insurance ProducerConnecticut Insurance DepartmentNot yet
DelawareExam onlyNone$125Insurance ProducerDelaware Department of InsuranceView
District of ColumbiaExam onlyNoneVaries by lineDistrict of Columbia Department of Insurance, Securities and BankingNot yet
FloridaExam onlyNone$50 plus $5 per line of authorityAgent (all lines except Title)Florida Department of Financial ServicesView
GeorgiaPre-licensing required8 hrsVaries by lineGeorgia Office of the Commissioner of Insurance and Safety FireNot yet
HawaiiExam onlyNone$150Insurance ProducerHawaii Insurance DivisionView
IdahoExam onlyNone$80Insurance ProducerIdaho Department of InsuranceView
IllinoisMixed20 hrs$215 (reinstatement $430)Insurance ProducerIllinois Department of InsuranceView
IndianaExam onlyNone$40Resident Producer - IndividualIndiana Department of InsuranceView
IowaExam onlyNone$50Insurance ProducerIowa Insurance DivisionView
KansasExam onlyNone$10 (reinstatement $104; reapplication $170)Insurance ProducerKansas Insurance DepartmentView
KentuckyNot classifiedNot stated$40 plus $40 per line of authority plus a $50 exam fee per line of authorityAgentKentucky Department of InsuranceNot yet
LouisianaExam onlyNone$75 (amendment $75)Insurance Producer (all lines of authority excluding Surplus Lines)Louisiana Department of InsuranceView
MaineExam onlyNone$25Individual Producer (Resident, all lines except Surplus)Maine Bureau of InsuranceView
MarylandExam onlyNone$54 (amendment $0, reinstatement $54)Insurance ProducerMaryland Insurance AdministrationView
MassachusettsExam onlyNone$225Insurance ProducerMassachusetts Division of InsuranceView
MichiganMixed20 hrs / 40 hrs$10Resident ProducerMichigan Department of Insurance and Financial ServicesView
MinnesotaMixed20 hrs$50Resident Insurance ProducerMinnesota Department of CommerceView
MississippiMixed20 hrs$100Insurance ProducerMississippi Insurance DepartmentNot yet
MissouriExam onlyNone$100 (amendment $100)Insurance ProducerMissouri Department of Commerce and InsuranceView
MontanaExam onlyNone$0Insurance ProducerMontana Commissioner of Securities and InsuranceView
NebraskaExam onlyNone$50Insurance ProducerNebraska Department of InsuranceView
NevadaExam onlyNone$138Resident Motor Club AgentNevada Division of InsuranceView
New HampshireExam onlyNone$210 (amendment $50; reinstatement $300)Insurance ProducerNew Hampshire Insurance DepartmentView
New JerseyMixed20 hrs$170Insurance Producer (standard line of authority)New Jersey Department of Banking and InsuranceView
New MexicoExam onlyNone$30Insurance ProducerNew Mexico Office of Superintendent of InsuranceView
New YorkNot classifiedNot statedVaries by lineNew York State Department of Financial ServicesNot yet
North CarolinaExam onlyNone$82 (reinstatement $84)Insurance ProducerNorth Carolina Department of InsuranceView
North DakotaExam onlyNone$100Insurance ProducerNorth Dakota Insurance DepartmentView
OhioMixed20 hrs$10 (amendment $10)Major LinesOhio Department of InsuranceView
OklahomaExam onlyNone$60 (reinstatement $120)Insurance Producer (all lines except Variable)Oklahoma Insurance DepartmentView
OregonMixed20 hrs$100Insurance ProducerOregon Division of Financial RegulationView
PennsylvaniaExam onlyNone$55Insurance ProducerPennsylvania Insurance DepartmentView
Rhode IslandExam onlyNone$120 (reinstatement $170)Insurance ProducerRhode Island Department of Business RegulationNot yet
South CarolinaExam onlyNone$25 (amendment $25, reinstatement $25)Insurance ProducerSouth Carolina Department of InsuranceView
South DakotaExam onlyNone$25 application, $25 reinstatementInsurance ProducerSouth Dakota Division of InsuranceView
TennesseeExam onlyNone$50 (amendment $50)Insurance ProducerTennessee Department of Commerce and InsuranceView
TexasExam onlyNoneNot on fileNot on fileView
UtahExam onlyNone$75 (reinstatement $75)Resident Producer IndividualUtah Insurance DepartmentView
VermontExam onlyNone$60 (amendment $30)Insurance ProducerVermont Department of Financial RegulationView
VirginiaExam onlyNoneNot on fileNot on fileView
WashingtonExam onlyNone$55 (reinstatement $82.50 within 30 days, $110 within 60 days, $165 within a year)Insurance ProducerWashington State Office of the Insurance CommissionerView
West VirginiaPre-licensing required20 hrs / 40 hrs$50Insurance ProducerWest Virginia Offices of the Insurance CommissionerNot yet
WisconsinPre-licensing required20 hrs$10Intermediary (Producer) Individual, exam-required linesWisconsin Office of the Commissioner of InsuranceNot yet
WyomingExam onlyNone$100Resident Producer (all line-of-authority combinations)Wyoming Department of InsuranceView

What this means for what you spend

In a state that mandates hours, the approved course is not optional and not something you can price-shop away. You need a provider that state has approved for that specific course, and they report your completion to the state. That cost lands on top of the exam fee, the application fee, and fingerprinting. Buying exam prep instead of an approved course in one of those states does not make you eligible to test.

In an exam-only state the arithmetic is completely different. Nothing obliges you to buy anything at all. You could work from the state candidate handbook and free questions. Most people do buy study material, because the exams are written to be failed by the underprepared, but that spend is entirely discretionary. It is worth knowing that the large national providers charge roughly $200 to $450 for exam prep in exam-only states where the state itself requires no course. Our exam prep is $49.99 with lifetime access, which is the whole argument for it.

The honest version of that argument has a limit. If your state mandates hours and we do not hold approval there, we are not the answer, and the table above says so in the Courses column.

Common questions

What is insurance pre-licensing education?

Some states require you to complete a set number of hours in a state-approved course before you are allowed to sit the licensing exam. The state sets the hours and approves the providers. Other states are exam-only: you register for the exam whenever you feel ready, and any study material is optional.

Does exam prep count as pre-licensing education?

No, and any provider telling you otherwise is misleading you. Pre-licensing education has to come from a provider that state has approved for that specific course, and the provider reports your completion to the state. Exam prep is optional study material. In a state that mandates hours, you need the approved course whether or not you also buy exam prep.

Which states do not require pre-licensing education?

The majority of the jurisdictions in the table below are exam-only for their main producer lines. Several changed recently: North Carolina moved to exam-only effective October 2025 and Pennsylvania in April 2025, so older guides you find elsewhere may still say otherwise.

How much does pre-licensing education add to the cost?

It is usually the largest single line item in getting licensed, and it is unavoidable in the states that mandate it. That is separate from the state exam fee, the application fee, and fingerprinting. In exam-only states there is no mandated course cost at all, which is why what you spend on study material is entirely your choice there.

Why does this matter when choosing a course?

It decides what you are actually shopping for. In a pre-licensing state, price-comparing exam-prep courses is the wrong question; you need an approved provider for your state first. In an exam-only state, nothing forces you into a $200 to $450 package, and a $49.99 exam-prep course is the whole of your prep budget.

Related reading

Coverage and sources

The table is generated at render time from two datasets we maintain, and nothing in it is typed in by hand. The pre-licensing classification and the mandated hours come from our per-line licensing catalog, last verified on 2026-05-31. The application fees, regulator names and regulator links are transcribed from each state's NIPR resident-licensing page, each entry carrying the date it was read.

Coverage is all 51 jurisdictions, every US state plus the District of Columbia, with a fee shown for 46 of them. 3 carry fee and regulator detail but no per-line pre-licensing classification yet; those say "Not classified" rather than being assumed exam-only. 3 price the producer licence per line of authority, and those cells say "Varies by line" instead of printing one line's fee as though it were the whole answer. A cell reading “Not on file” means we hold no fee source for that state, which is a gap in our data and not a statement about the state. Fee-by-fee detail, including exam and fingerprint costs, is in our license cost guide.

Requirements change, and several states have moved to exam-only recently. Confirm with your state department of insurance before you register for an exam or buy a course.

Elite Training Academy provides exam-preparation materials. Exam prep is not state-approved pre-licensing education unless a course is explicitly listed as such for your state.