Skip to main content

Home › State licensing › Minnesota › Public Adjuster

Minnesota Public Adjuster License - Exam Section Weights & Requirements

What the Minnesota Public Adjuster exam tests, section by section, taken from the state's own published content outline, with exam prep built to the same weights.

Minnesota issues this as Resident Public Adjuster.

Where to apply

We have not published a step-by-step Minnesota checklist yet. These are the official sources; anything on this page that is not cited to one of them comes from the state's own published exam outline.

What Minnesota requires

Transcribed from NIPR's Minnesota resident licensing requirements page, read 2026-09-16. Fees and rules change; confirm against Minnesota Department of Commerce before you file.

Application fee
$50 (Resident Public Adjuster)
State exam
NIPR does not verify exams before allowing submission, but an exam is required before the state approves the request. The applicant is not required to pass the exam before submitting the licence application.
Fingerprints and background check
All producer and adjuster applicants must provide fingerprints; PSI electronic fingerprinting is strongly recommended and prints are valid one year (PSI Minnesota bulletin, 1/6/2026). The fee is not stated here because the bulletin and the Commerce Department page show different amounts.
How to apply
Apply electronically through NIPR's Resident License application.
Also worth knowing
A $10 technology fee applies to some classes. Catastrophe Adjuster licences are active for six months with an optional extension. Apply within thirty-six months after passing the exam. A Property and Casualty course certificate does not satisfy Personal Lines, which needs its own proof of education (PSI Minnesota bulletin, 1/6/2026).
Minnesota application fees, by license class
  • Resident Insurance Producer$50
  • Resident Public Adjuster$50
  • Resident Independent Adjuster$50
  • Resident Crop Hail Adjuster$50
  • Resident Catastrophe Adjuster$20
  • Resident Surplus Lines$500

Source: NIPR, Minnesota resident licensing requirements, individual, read 2026-09-16. Anything absent above is something that page does not state, which is not the same as the state not requiring it.

What's actually on the exam

Section weights below are derived from PSI publication MNINS PCAdjuster outline, effective unknown - not a national average. Our practice questions and final exam are sampled to the same proportions.

  • 1. Licensing11.4%
  • 2. Insurance Contract14.3%
  • 3. Analyzing Coverage20%
  • 4. Adjustment Process25.7%
  • 5. Types of Loss Investigation and Adjustment14.3%
  • 6. Additional Terms and Insurance-Related Concepts14.3%

Source: PSI MNINS PCAdjuster outline eff. unknown.

Frequently asked questions

Does Minnesota require state-approved prelicensing education?

No. Minnesota does not mandate prelicensing education for the Public Adjuster license. The state exam is the standard qualification, but some applicants are exempt from it (for example by a prior license or a qualifying designation, and in some states an approved course). Check the exemptions listed on the state DOI website before you register and pay for an exam.

Is the practice exam built to the real Minnesota exam's format?

Yes. Our practice questions and final exam are weighted to match PSI MNINS PCAdjuster outline eff. unknown, section by section - not a generic national blueprint with a state label on it.

Ready to start studying?

Exam prep built directly to Minnesota's content outline, with practice questions and a full-length final exam.

Start studying: $49.99 →