Lifetime Access vs 60-Day Access: What Insurance Course Access Windows Actually Cost You
Almost nobody reads the access term before buying an exam prep course, because on the day you buy, 60 days sounds like plenty. It usually is. The access window only becomes expensive later, in the specific situations where you most need the material back: after a failed attempt, after a postponed exam date, or years later when you add a line of authority. This page explains what access windows are, what expiration actually takes from you, and precisely what our lifetime access does and does not mean.
What an access window is, and why providers use them
An access window is a countdown attached to your course. It starts when you buy or when you first activate, it runs for a fixed number of days, and when it hits zero the product stops working for you. Sixty days, 90 days, six months, and 12 months are all common.
Providers use windows for reasons that are not sinister. A deadline genuinely pushes some students to study, which is the same logic behind booking your exam date early. Windows also cap the open-ended cost of hosting, support, and content maintenance for a customer who paid once. And a window creates a second revenue event: a student who runs out of time and still needs the material buys again. That last reason is the one worth understanding before you pay, because it is the one that hits your wallet.
What actually happens the day your access expires
Expiration is not a soft downgrade. In the typical case you lose the two things that were doing the real work:
- The question bank. Practice questions are the highest-value part of any exam prep product, and they are the first thing that goes dark. Whatever you had flagged, missed, or bookmarked usually goes with it.
- The exam simulator. The full-length timed simulation is how you decide whether you are ready to book. Losing it means losing your only honest readiness check.
- Your progress and history. Section scores, weak area tracking, and completion state are typically inside the platform, not exportable, and not yours after expiry.
The usual remedy is re-buying. Some providers sell extensions, some do not, and terms change, so check the specific provider's published terms rather than assuming a grace period exists. The practical point stands regardless: the access window is not a footnote, it is part of the price you paid, and the day it expires is the day you find out how much of the price it was.
Who the window actually matters to
Here is the part most comparison pages will not say plainly: 60 days is enough time for most candidates who start studying immediately. If you buy on Monday, study steadily, and sit the exam five weeks later, the window never touches you and it is not worth a minute of your attention. The comparison below is not about the smooth path. It is about three specific groups.
1. Candidates who fail once and retake
A failed attempt is the worst possible moment to lose your question bank. You now know exactly which sections cost you the exam, you have a retake fee to pay, and you need to re-drill weak areas immediately. If your window is nearly exhausted, you are choosing between rushing a retake and paying for the course a second time. Our guide to why people fail the insurance exam covers what to do with that information.
2. Candidates who postpone
A new job, a move, a family situation, a slow appointment calendar at the testing center. Postponing is normal, and it is exactly what an access window punishes. A candidate who buys in March, gets pulled away for two months, and comes back in June has lost nothing about their ability to pass, only their access to the material.
3. Licensed producers adding a line of authority
This is the quiet one. You passed Life and Health two years ago, your agency now wants you writing Property and Casualty, and you want to review the material you already own before you sit another exam. With an expired course you are starting from a purchase page. With lifetime access, your old course is still there and your new one is a separate $49.99.
Access windows compared, as of 2026-08-17
| Product | Listed price | Access window | Renewal fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elite Training Academy exam prep course | $49.99 one-time | Lifetime, no expiration timer | None |
| ExamFX producer prelicensing | Self-Study $169.95, Video Study $219.95, Live Online $299.95 (listed as reduced from $369.95) | 60 days | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| ExamFX adjuster prelicensing | Self-Study $129.95, Video Study $179.95 | 60 days | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| ExamFX continuing education | Varies by package | Described on its site as 365-day access | Not stated on the pages we checked |
Source note: ExamFX figures were read from examfx.com on 2026-08-17, from its Texas life, Texas property and casualty, Texas adjuster, home, and insurance exams pages, all linked under Sources cited below. Competitor pricing, package names, and access terms change without notice, and package contents differ between providers, so this table compares access terms and list prices only, not feature-for-feature value. Verify current terms on the provider's own checkout page before you buy.
ExamFX also advertises a pass guarantee: as described on its site on 2026-08-17, it refunds the cost of the course if you score 80% or higher on its Readiness Exam and then fail the state exam within three days, with the note that some restrictions may apply. That is a real feature and worth weighing. We do not offer a pass guarantee of any kind, and no prep course, including ours, can guarantee a passing score. We offer a 7-day refund window with conditions instead, documented at /legal/refund.
What lifetime access does NOT mean
"Lifetime" is a marketing word that gets stretched across this industry, so here are the limits of ours, stated before you buy rather than after.
- It does not mean the content never changes. Insurance law changes and states revise their exam content outlines. We update courses, correct questions, and expand banks. Updates to a course you own reach you at no extra charge, but the course you return to in two years will not be an identical snapshot of the one you bought.
- It does not mean a course can never be retired. If a state materially rewrites its exam outline, an outdated course can be withdrawn and replaced by the current version. Our commitment is no renewal fee for as long as we operate the course, not that any particular course exists forever.
- It does not mean a guaranteed pass. Unlimited time with the material is not the same as passing. We do not offer, and cannot offer, a guaranteed passing score. What lifetime access buys is the ability to keep working without a second purchase.
- It does not transfer. Access is tied to your individual account. It is not shareable, resellable, or transferable to a colleague, a spouse, or a new hire. Each person who needs to study needs their own enrollment.
- It does not cover every course, every state, or other products. Lifetime access applies to the specific exam-prep course you bought, in the states listed in our course catalog. Adding a second line of authority means buying that course.
- It is not a promise the company is immortal. Nobody can honestly promise that. Lifetime access means access with no renewal fee for as long as we operate the course. Any provider selling you a stronger promise than that is selling you something it cannot control.
Buyer checklist: reading access terms before you pay
Five questions to answer on any provider's checkout page, including ours, before you enter a card number.
- How many days, and when does the clock start? Purchase date or activation date is a meaningful difference if you are buying ahead of a start date.
- What specifically stops working at expiry? Question bank, simulator, lessons, and progress history are the components that matter. Assume all of them go.
- Is there an extension, and what does it cost? If the price is not published before purchase, treat it as unknown and budget for re-buying instead.
- What are the refund conditions, in full? Look for the window in days and the usage conditions that void it. Ours is 7 days with conditions at /legal/refund.
- If there is a pass guarantee, what has to be true to claim it? Guarantees typically carry score thresholds, time limits, and completion requirements. Read them before you rely on one.
If you want to check the material before committing to anything, take the free practice exam first. It costs nothing and tells you more about fit than any comparison table can.
One price, no countdown
$49.99 once per course, lifetime access with no renewal fee, question banks weighted to your state's published exam content outline, typically 500+ practice questions, a full-length timed exam simulator, and an AI tutor on every lesson.
Frequently asked questions
Elite Training Academy lifetime access means what exactly?
It means you pay $49.99 once for a course and that course stays in your account with no renewal fee, no reactivation fee, and no expiration date, for as long as we operate that course. There is no second charge to come back in six months or three years. It does not mean the content is frozen, it does not mean a guaranteed passing score, it does not transfer to another person, and it does not mean a specific course can never be withdrawn or replaced. If a state materially rewrites its exam content outline, we may retire an outdated course and replace it with the current one. Our refund window is 7 days with conditions, documented at /legal/refund.
Do insurance prep courses expire?
Most of them do. The common structure in this industry is a fixed access window that starts when you buy or when you activate the course. As of 2026-08-17, ExamFX lists 60 days of course access on its producer prelicensing packages and its adjuster packages, and describes its continuing education product as 365-day access. Other providers use 6-month or 12-month windows. Elite Training Academy does not use an access window on exam-prep courses. Always read the access term on the checkout page before you pay, because it is a real part of the price.
What happens when my insurance prelicensing course access expires?
Typically you lose access to the parts of the product that do the actual work: the question bank, the exam simulator, the lessons, and your progress dashboard. Any notes or flagged questions stored inside the platform usually go with it. The usual remedy offered is buying the course again, or buying an extension if the provider sells one. Terms vary by provider and change over time, so check the specific provider's terms rather than assuming. This is the moment the access window stops being a footnote and becomes a second purchase.
Is 60 days of access enough to pass the insurance exam?
For most candidates who start studying the day they buy, yes. Sixty days is a generous runway for a producer prelicensing exam if you study steadily from day one and sit the exam on schedule. The window becomes a problem in three specific cases: you fail once and want to re-drill before a retake, life interrupts and you postpone your exam date, or you come back months later to review before adding a line of authority. In those cases the calendar, not the material, is what costs you money.
Does lifetime access mean the course content never changes?
No, and you would not want that. Insurance law changes, states revise their exam content outlines, and question banks get corrected and expanded. Lifetime access means continued access to the course in your account without paying again, not a frozen snapshot of the version you bought. Updates we publish to a course you own appear in your account at no extra charge. The trade is that the course you return to in two years may not be identical to the one you bought, and that is intentional.
Can I share or transfer my lifetime access to someone else?
No. Access is tied to your individual account and is not transferable, resellable, or shareable. A licensing course is bought per person, the same way an exam seat is. If a colleague or family member also needs to study, they need their own enrollment. This is not a technicality we enforce selectively; account sharing is a violation of our terms.
Whose lifetime is lifetime access, mine or the company's?
Honest answer: the course's. Every provider that sells lifetime access is really promising access for as long as it operates that product, and any company that tells you otherwise is overpromising. At Elite Training Academy, lifetime access means no renewal fee and no expiration timer for as long as we operate the course you bought. If a state rewrites its exam outline, that specific course can be withdrawn or replaced with the updated version. We would rather state that plainly here than hide it in a terms page.
How much is Elite Training Academy and what is included?
$49.99 one-time per exam-prep course, with lifetime access and no renewal fee. Each course includes a question bank weighted to your state's published exam content outline, typically 500+ practice questions, a full-length timed exam simulator, and an AI tutor available on every lesson. You can test the material before paying anything with the free practice exam at /practice-exam. Available courses are listed in our course catalog at /courses. Refunds are available within 7 days subject to the conditions at /legal/refund.
How does ExamFX pricing and access compare?
As of 2026-08-17, ExamFX lists producer prelicensing packages at Self-Study $169.95, Video Study $219.95, and Live Online $299.95 (shown as reduced from $369.95), each with 60 days of course access, and adjuster packages at Self-Study $129.95 and Video Study $179.95, also with 60 days. ExamFX also advertises a pass guarantee that refunds the cost of the course if you score 80% or higher on its Readiness Exam and then fail the state exam within three days, noting that some restrictions may apply. Those are their published terms, and they may change; verify on examfx.com before you buy.
Related guides
- Elite Training Academy vs ExamFX
- Why we cost less than the national providers
- How to choose an insurance exam prep course
- Why people fail the insurance exam
- How to pass the insurance exam faster
- Pricing
- All licensing and exam guides
Sources cited
- ExamFX - Texas life insurance prelicensing (Self-Study $169.95, Video Study $219.95, Live Online $299.95 reduced from $369.95, each with 60 days of course access). Verified 2026-08-17.
- ExamFX - Texas property and casualty prelicensing (same package tiers and 60-day access term). Verified 2026-08-17.
- ExamFX - Texas adjuster prelicensing (Self-Study $129.95, Video Study $179.95, 60 days of course access). Verified 2026-08-17.
- ExamFX - home page (continuing education described as 365-day access). Verified 2026-08-17.
- ExamFX - insurance exams page (pass guarantee refunds course cost if you score 80% or higher on the Readiness Exam and fail the state exam within three days, some restrictions may apply). Verified 2026-08-17.
- Elite Training Academy - refund policy (7-day window with conditions)
Competitor prices, package names, and access terms are read from public pages on the dates stated and change without notice. Verify current terms directly with the provider before purchasing. Course availability by state is limited to the states listed in our course catalog, and course content is updated as states revise their exam content outlines. Lifetime access means no renewal fee and no expiration for as long as we operate the course you purchased, is tied to your individual account, and is not transferable. No prep course, including ours, can guarantee a passing score.